Dotty shawl jacket

Today was a lovely spring day and perfect weather for wearing my new jacket. It is made of 100% wool using both sides of the fabric to get the contrast on the shawl. Fully lined with handmade buttonholes. I think my beloved machine found the thickness too much to cope with when I tried the buttonhole feature! The 3/4 length sleeves are a perfect excuse to wear my favourite leather gloves too! The free pattern was included in a copy of SEW magazine, given to me as a gift from my lovely neighbour. Very easy and quick to put together and I would definitely sew this again.

Dotty shawl jacket in wool

Dotty shawl jacket in wool

Dotty shawl jacket in wool front and back view

Dotty shawl jacket in wool, front and back view

Our mission today was to seek out the Anish Kapoor sculptures in Kensington Gardens. We found the first – Sky Mirror – and the second – The C-Curve – but were disappointed to find out that the others had been removed for exhibiting in Paris.

C-Curve Anish Kapoor

C-Curve, Anish Kapoor

Sky Mirror Anish Kapoor

Sky Mirror, Anish Kapoor

7 thoughts on “Dotty shawl jacket

    • Thanks Karen. Becky’s talents are boundless! Im loving this world of sewing and meeting lovely like-minded people. Just need some time on my hands now! The jacket was so easy. Well it must have been if I managed it!

      • This jacket is really lovely. I am thinking about making a jacket myself. Not sure if it will be this good though. May have to pick an easy pattern.

      • Thank you Debby. Do give it a go. This was a really simple pattern, though I had my doubts at first. Just take each step slowly and it will come together nicely! This is my first attempt at a jacket and I’m so glad I took the plunge. Good luck with yours. There is something really sastisfying about wearing a jacket you have made. Nobody quite believes you! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Me Made May 13: My second week | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

