Gypsy tops

Gypsy top, peasant top, call it what you like, it is indeed another one of those cheeky little numbers that just don’t fade away. It conjures up images of busty bar wenches, sexy Spanish ladies from High Chaparral and proper undergarments worn by ladies of an age gone by. I have to admit that my first interest is the fact that these are seemingly so simple to make and my second is that I am inspired to make a top for the Spring Top Sew Along, hosted by (Made by) Rae.

It will be my first sew along and I’m quite excited. I love being a part of this sewing community.

I have found some gypsy tops online and posted them below (if only to certify that they are still being sold from high street shops in 2011) and I think I might just be heading for a few of these. I think they are so pretty and would make a perfect addition to the anticipated summer wardrobe…

Top Shop gypsy top

Top Shop gypsy top

Miss Selfridge gypsy top

Miss Selfridge gypsy top

Jane Norman peasant top

Jane Norman peasant top

Next gypsy top

Next gypsy top

I also got lucky with a half price sale on Butterick patterns and bought this one …

butterick_b4685

butterick_b4685

I’m loving the ‘Fast & Easy’ bit! Here’s hoping I’ll get my ooobop! gypsy top up by tomorrow evening! Off to my street party now. Just got to iron my ladybug dress… oh and find my brolly! Have a lovely wedding day everyone!

Leave a Reply

