ooobop! Hope dress

ooobop hope dress

ooobop! Hope dress

I must have gone soft in my old age! As soon as I saw this dress pattern in February’s Sew Magazine, I knew I would make it. Just needed to find a baby! As luck would have it, my eldest daughter’s friend just had her second baby, a little girl called Hope. I was so excited and made a beeline for AK Textiles in Ealing who have fabrics on sale as they are so sadly closing down. I bought 3 metres of baby pink and 3 of blue linen, even though I only needed about half a meter! Its so soft and drapy and old-fashioned. I love it! I made the bias trim too from some little rose-print poly cotton I picked up locally from a shop in the Goldhawk Road, Shepherds Bush.

This project was a first not just in making a baby dress but for making the bias trim and incorporating french seams. I’ve always been a bit lazy to employ these but I love how neat they are and will certainly be adding them to future garments.

french seam

French seams are so neat!

I changed quite a few things from the original which incidentally was embellished much like a Christmas tree! The instructions called for a zip which I thought went against the grain of a soft baby dress, so I used poppers instead. Much easier than buttons, I thought, to get off in a hurry when you’ve got a nappy crisis! I also enclosed the raw edges of the yoke inside. Much neater.

poppers instead of a zip

Poppers instead of a zip

I need more practice with getting gathers even on a ruffle. In fact I’m very tempted to make more of this dress to practice. Maybe my graphic designer’s eye is too self-critical and maybe I need to look at other flounces to check their even-distribution before I beat myself up too much! Just look at the texture of the linen. Is it just me who gets that warm fuzzy feeling?!

the flounce

Is it a flounce or a ruffle?

I so wanted to keep this dress simple but I couldn’t resist adding a bias bow to finish it off.

Bias trim bow detail

Bias trim bow detail

Well, I’m off the wrap it and put it in the post. I do very much hope Hope likes it!! (sorry!)

12 thoughts on “ooobop! Hope dress

    • Thank you Karen. It was a great little exercise in taking things slowly and getting details really neat. And that does make me feel quite proud. I still get a bit impatient with bigger projects especially if its something I want to wear NOW!

  1. I get the warm fuzzy feeling too – so perfect. You can definitely see your eye for perfection in this dress. I’ve been a bit lazy with the french seams recently but I shall be getting back on them as the finish in this is just lovely.

    Just came across your blog but I’ve added it to my favourites – its real good.

    Cheers

  2. What a lucky baby girl! This dress is adorable!

    Sadly, the fabulous fabric shops of Goldhawk road are at threat of demolition.
    You can read the full details on Melissa’s blog:

    http://www.fehrtrade.com/article/444/save-goldhwak-road

    Please spread the word,join the facebook group, write to the council and lend your support in any way you can. Otherwise fabric shopping trips to Goldhawk road may sadly become a thing of the past.

    • Thank you for your post. I have indeed joined the facebook groups and I will write to support the cause too. I will be devastated if this goes ahead. I live a stones throw from the Goldhawk Road.

Leave a Reply

