My new vintage patterns

I have yet to attempt to sew a vintage style dress from a vintage pattern but I am forever inspired by everyone else’s vintage makes and I feel that I might have caught the bug. I ordered four lovely patterns from Etsy last week and I was sooooo excited to find them on my door mat when I got home from work last night. I have yet to investigate all the pieces to make sure they are all there but I am inclined to totally trust the seller as they arrived in such perfect condition. Amazing, seeing that two of them are around 60 years old!

simplicity_4940

Simplicity 4940: 1950s one-piece step in dress.

simplicity_3320

Simplicity 3320: 1950s dress with 2 skirt variations and detachable collar

vogue_6338_fc

Vogue 6338: 1960s One piece dress with tie or button collar

mccalls_2399

Mccalls 2399: 1970s dress in three versions

These designs range from 50’s to 70’s and I love them all. The 1960s Vogue pattern even came with its original label to sew into the finished dress! This will be a fantastic learning curve for me as I have not yet attempted any redrafting of patterns. The ladies of these eras clearly had different proportions so I definitely will not be able to forgo the muslins!

Goodness knows when I will be able to start work on them though. I am swamped with work at the moment, which is typical when I have such great plans to sew! Oh to be retired!!

4 thoughts on “My new vintage patterns

  1. you’ve picked out great looking styles! i’m drawn to view B of vogue 6338. looking forward to seeing your creations off these patterns. 🙂

  2. I think that is my favourite too! It was the first one I chose in any case. I just have to find the perfect fabric. I think it has to be a block colour or a very small and simple print. to echo the simplicity.

  3. Ooh, lovely patterns! I’m especially loving version 2 of Simplicity 3320 – very striking! (And I’m curious to see how that detachable collar works.)

Leave a Reply

