Special keyring lavender bag

The humble lavender bag is something that until now hasn’t wafted its way on to my ever-growing project list. Until that was, I went to visit Sprigs Lavender Farm in Jersey. Have any of you been? The island of Jersey is so pretty and I could harp on about it ’til the Jersey cows come home (and they really are sooo pretty!), but I won’t because I want to keep on track with a sewing blog… kind of!

Sprigs Lavender Farm, Jersey

Sprigs Lavender Farm, Jersey

This wonderful family business, established since 1983, farms 9 acres of stunning lavender plants which flower early June to early August.  We were very unlucky to have missed the flowers before harvest as the early onset of warm weather this year forced them to peak early. But it was still very much well worth the visit. The beautiful gardens and the scent of lavender was therapy enough but they also grow tea tree plants, eucalyptus, rosemary, bay laurel and cypress which are also distilled on site to extract their oils.

eucalyptus leaves

eucalyptus leaves

rosemary

rosemary

The distillery

The distillery (with the lovely Jersey Lillies on the left)

Dovecote and caravan

Dovecote and 150 year old caravan

There were a fine collection of chickens to amuse ‘the children’ and a lovely resident dog called Jumble who entertained my daughter for ages.

Feeding the chickens

Feeding the chickens

I regret to say that I didn’t get a shot of the beautifully laid out tea…. mismatching vintage tea cups for our loose leaf tea and lavender victoria sponge with Jersey cream. As you will probably understand I was so distracted I only thought of photographing it when it was gone! We also ate the lavender fudge on the way home. Words will not describe how absolutely delicious that was!

The gift shop, as you can image, was full of lovely gifts: oils, perfumes, room sprays, candles, toys, sweets and biscuits and not least of all lavender bags.

Here is a small selection of some of what was on offer:

Sprigs Lavender Farm gifts

Sprigs Lavender Farm gifts

Lavender bags

Lavender bags

Lavender hearts

Lavender hearts

Lavender hearts and keyrings

Lavender hearts and keyrings

Lavender hangers

Lavender hangers

Lavender door stop

Lavender door stop. Main section filled with rice, handles filled loosely with lavender.

In pure excitement, despite the large bag of goodies we bought to take away, we left behind a lavender keyring which Samaria had wanted so much to attach to her school bag. Well… cue mum’s first lavender bag! Stuffed with the most gorgeously smelling dried lavender flowers all the way from Jersey! Samaria says it will always remind her of her lovely holiday and Jumble the dog… awww!

Mini lavender bag keyring

Mini lavender bag keyring

Other side of mini lavender bag keyring

Other side of mini lavender bag keyring

I tend to save pretty ribbons that from gift wrapped chocolate boxes, when I am lucky enough to be on the receiving end… or rob them from other people’s once I’ve convinced them my need is greater! The fabric is a furnishing fabric I rescued from a charity shop, of course, and my son bequeathed me one of the rings from his keyring collection! I knew my hoarding would serve me well and I have plenty enough to make some more.

Now… although that was a fine act of procrastination… I must get on with that shirt!

2 thoughts on “Special keyring lavender bag

  1. lavender is one of my fave scent. sorry you missed the blooming flowers. it must be a sight, to be in, walking among them. i’m dreaming… lovely holiday there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

