ooobop! basics: the gingham blouse

gingham blouse

ooobop! separates: the gingham blouse

I could so easily get carried away with gorgeous vintage dresses…. and I will!… but not just yet. My wardrobe is screaming out for separates, for an easy thrown together work outfit. I think I’ve been sporting the same ‘Primani’ tops for a good couple of years now and it is indeed time for change. And so the gingham blouse was born, just yesterday!

gingham blouse

gingham blouse, cinched with a retro belt

The yoke of the blouse extends from the back piece and there are some interesting pleats on the front. Bias strips always look good in gingham and finished off the armholes beautifully. The subtle cap sleeves sharpen the shape and I think it gives a little 40s edge.

gingham blouse shoulder

gingham blouse shoulder

And what luck to have found those little red flower buttons at the London Vintage Fashion, Textiles and Accessories Fair a couple of weeks ago. As I was pinning out the fabric, the red bobbles on the pins popped with the gingham and I had a Eureka moment when I remembered those cute little flowers! The button holes were a breeze, considering my breath-holding buttonhole experience with Mr Ooobop’s western shirt!

gingham blouse with red flower buttons

gingham blouse with red flower buttons

The pattern is an interesting one from Burdastyle magazine, one of my must-have monthly indulges. The September issue was a Folk-style Special and hey, who knows when I will need a dirndl, but there is always a little gem hidden away among the 60 odd patterns! Not bad for a cover price of £4.75 methinks!

burda blouse, september 2011

burda blouse, september 2011

Inspiration from this top came primarily from Handmade Jane’s Hillbilly Blouse. I saw it and had to have one!
Hillbilly Blouse

Handmade Jane's Hillbilly Blouse

But I can’t pretend that I wasn’t spurred on and kicked into gear by Harper 7’s snazzy little outfit!!

Harper 7 wearing gingham

If its good enough for Harper 7...!

But isn’t it true to say that along with polka dots, gingham is never ever going to be out of fashion. And just look what glamourous ladies I found wearing it well…

Brigitte Bardot wears gingham

Brigitte Bardot wears gingham

Dolly Parton does gingham

Dolly Parton does gingham

Doris Day eptiomizes gingham

Doris Day eptiomizes gingham

Elizabeth Taylor looks lush in gingham

Elizabeth Taylor looks lush in gingham

And Lucille does gingham as well as she does polka dots

And Lucille does gingham as well as she does polka dots

Well, I might be making a few more of these. This crazy hot weather is not encouraging me to move onto the autumn/winter project list yet…. but I’m not complaining at all! Anyone still making summer clothes?

30 thoughts on “ooobop! basics: the gingham blouse

  1. Oh wow, this is gorgeous and I agree that Jane’s version was inspirational! I love the Burdastyle pattern, I hope it’s available online as I’ve missed the boat with September’s issue!

  2. Ooh I’m famous, thank you! That was a shock – reading your post and then seeing my mug pop up! Absolutely gorgeous blouse Janene, really beautiful and I agree, gingham bias binding is awesome. The red flower buttons are perfect too, I love them. Now let’s see some pics of you wearing it! x

    • Didn’t think to ask permission, sorry Jane! Though I think you were famous with this shirt to start with! Ha ha… I was wondering who would be the first to notice I had chickened out and employed a mannequin! Bad hair day and all that! x

  3. wow, the pattern sewn in plain white doesn’t really grab my interest, but your version in gingham and with those cute buttons is fantastic, and made me want to “favourite” the pattern on burdastyle straight away!

  4. Ooh I was just looking at that pattern last night, it’s so 50s! Perfect for the gingham, looks lovely. That issue of Burda was a bit dodgy with all the folkwear so I missed this little gem first time around, well done on spotting it amongst the dirndl skirts!

  5. That’s fabulous! So much better than the Burda version. I’m really surprised this is a contemporary pattern – it has such a vintage feel. I love the neckline. Great general post on gingham, too!

  6. I love the pleats in the front especially!!! I have some blue and white gigham fabric that I’ve been looking for a project for and a shirt never crossed my mind but its PERFECT!!!. BTW – I am a new blogger and would love it if you checked out my blog! Thanks 🙂
    Caridad
    thepinpin.blogspot.com

    • Thank you Caridad. And welcome to Blogsphere! Its such a rewarding thing to do. Everyone is so supportive and its a fantastic way to pressure yourself into being more productive!

      • Thanks!!! I like the Blogsphere… although I’m sure I’ll like it more when I get more readers 🙂 I have so many projects to add to the blog – stay tuned!!!

  7. Hi – OK so now I’m reading all your posts since I found your blog. I am so in love with this blouse, I have to have it. I’ve just recently completed a 30’s pair of Rosie The Riveter dungarees (will blog soon) and this blouse would work so well.
    Also, I love magazine subscriptions – reading blogs is great, but you can’t quite ‘curl up with a laptop/iBook’ and I love the sound of a magazine being rammed through the letter box. Burdastyle is now on my Xmas list.
    Also – love the Lucille Ball pic. She’s a legend.

  8. Pingback: Burda Top, Hastings Memories | Did You Make That?

  9. Pingback: Me Made May 13: My first week | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

