Samaria’s pinky-purple dress

Samaria's pink dress

Samaria's pink dress

En route to the party

En route to the party

I thought I was on a wonderfully selfish roll with my ooobop! basics, and I did wonder how long I would last before interception! But how could I resist a request for a party dress?! I have had this pattern in mind since last November (2010) when there was a really cool selection of childrens clothes in Burda Style Magazine. Samaria had requested a ‘pinky-purple dress with short sleeves’ and I added some black lace to the equation to make it a bit more grown up. The tricky part is always getting Samaria to pose, though it never looks like she is camera shy, it just costs a fortune in bribes!

Samaria's pink dress, back view

Samaria's pink dress, back view

I think it was a good idea on her part to team it with leggings. She still likes girly things but I can tell she is itching to move on to trendier levels… she did ask if the leopard print coat would be ready in time for the party too!!

The fabric was a spooky find in Oxfam, given Samaria’s description and was a perfect weight and drape for this dress. It is totally synthetic as I found out when I did a burn test. Let’s just say I’m glad she was far enough away from the candles on the birthday cake!

lace detail

lace detail

The bodice is self lined and hand slip-stitched to the zip tape. And I was so pleased with myself when the lace trim and back bodice pieces aligned perfectly on the back after I put in the zip in… I believe thats a first!

It was a wonderful party. We all had such a lovely time. But Samaria was still on guard and unavailable for any further photos on the way back…

Samaria waving glow stick

"Any nearer and I'll magic you into a frog!"

… so here is the a photo of the dress, once I prised it off her this evening…

Samaria pinky-purple dress hanging up

Samaria pinky-purple dress hanging up

3 thoughts on “Samaria’s pinky-purple dress

  1. Pingback: Scary Burda jacket! | ooobop!

Leave a comment