New Year, new Brother!

I’m not really sure how to write this post. For one, I’m still pretty speechless and secondly I’ve been battling with not wanting to be braggy. But it would be a crime not to mention the fact that I got hugely, massively spoilt, by Mr Ooobop! this Christmas… with this little beauty:

Brother Innov-is 1250

The very beautiful Brother Innov-is 1250

I have spent the last few days sweating over the instruction manual, scared to even turn the machine on in case I do something wrong. Its all digital! But yesterday I bit the bullet and decided to make a start and thread it up. Its got a nifty little cover to keep the thread and threading mechanisms dust-free.

innovis1250 thread cover

Nifty thread cover

I never questioned the functions of my trusty Janome Sewist, and I never will. Its a lovely little machine, if not now a little ‘manual’ (ssshhhh)! The bobbin is wound on the Brother at the press of a button with no foot action required! It then gets slotted in its carriage and the thread is wound around the plate and is automatically cut at the end. I just have to remember to insert it the opposite way to my Janome! The upper thread is easy enough to feed through. It also gets cut at the end, just before you pull down the lever to activate the automatic needle threader. This is also a feature on the Janome but seems to function more successfully on the Brother. You don’t have to ‘pick up’ the bobbin thread by winding the needle down. It’s picked up automatically.

innovis1250 bobbin

No picking up bobbin threads for me anymore!

The stitches are selected from the digital display. You are going to have to bear with me because I’ve only practiced with a few basic stitches so far. Stitch style, length, tension etc are all selected via touch screen (see top left, foot J). A little scary at first but then apparently very helpful as on selecting the stitch, the appropriate foot is displayed.

innovis1250 digital display

Touch screen digital display, no less!

Incidentally the feet and the unpicker and the bobbins have a cool little pull down compartment at the front. (Sorry Janome, but it is a much smoother operation in order to get to those accessories!)

innovis 1250

Closed accessory compartment

innovis1250 accessory compartment

Open accessory compartment!

Most importantly, it sewed first time, smooth as you like with but a whisper of a sound. I always wonder if my neighbours are cursing me when I sew late into the night! No worries about that anymore!

I love how the needle resumes a ‘down’ position every time you take your foot off the pedal. I’ve forgotten to ensure the needle is down, when turning corners, a few times, and it is really annoying!!

I also love the little button that you press when you come to the end of your stitching. It raises the needle and cuts the thread automatically, to a perfect length, so you don’t have to pull it through the back before resuming sewing. The number of times I have forgotten to do that and have had to thread the needle again, is not worth mentioning!

innovis1250 buttons

Foot up/down, reinforce, needle up/down and automatic cut thread when finished, -buttons!

So far I have practiced regular stitching, blind-hemming, overcasting and I couldn’t resist a little decorative stitching. I really need to do some more reading before I embark on the clever stuff! At some point I will also attempt a little video tutorial. I tried searching for one on YouTube but to no avail. I feel obliged to post one as I think it would be so helpful for people who have an aversion to manuals…. like me!

So as you can imagine I have had a wonderful start to the new year and have no excuse in not upping my productivity and setting myself some new sewing challenges for 2012. I am normally uber hesitant about making new years resolutions but I think I can safely say that this one might be a pleasurable one to achieve!

Lastly but not leastly, I would like to take this opportunity to wish a happy and healthy new year to all my wonderful bloggers and readers xxxx

22 thoughts on “New Year, new Brother!

  1. WOW! What a FABULOUS present!!! That is so neat some of the features it has (picking up the bobbin, automatic needle down). That is so much fun!!! Happy sewing!!

  2. Celebrating, not bragging! That machine sounds awesome. I think Christmas has definitely shown our partners and families to be immensely supportive of our obsessions! I can’t wait to hear more about this feat of computerised engineering.

  3. The Brother sounds like a Janome, with a built-in housekeeper!!! Someone to do all the menial work so that you can get on with the fun creating side of things. What a great year of sewing you are going to have ahead of you. You will have to whip Mr. Ooobop something as a thank-you…

  4. Gosh in trepidation I thought you were going to reveal tales of adoption or parents having a late life fling with prodigy! heehee. A new sewing machine is way, way cooler than a new brother, boys smell!

    • MrsC, you crack me up! Though it wouldn’t surprise me. I do have an interesting family bush! But I do agree, that boys smell, and that a new sewing machine is way cooler! πŸ™‚

  5. I’m with MrsC, I thought it was going to be a Surprise Surprise-style revelation of a long lost brother! Aw congratulations though Janene, you are a very lucky woman, that’s a really thoughtful present. Can’t wait to see your first makes on it. Happy New Year! x

  6. OMG that is fabulous! Lucky lucky you! Big thumbs up to Mr Ooobop for coming up with such a fantastic gift. Yay! Really looking forward to seeing what you make with it this year. πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: I ♥ Tilda Bunnies | ooobop!

  8. Pingback: I ♥ Tilda Bunnies | ooobop!

  9. Wow, my heart is palpitating just reading this post, sounds like a wonderful machine. All I have is the most basic Brother machine, it’s fine for what I am doing but sometimes I do wish I have something a little bit fancier.

    Thanks for your comment on my dress. I know a few people were complaining the back of the dress, but I quite like it, it is not as crazy as their photo, just a little bit of volume like if you have tucked in a shirt. You definitely need to wear a skinny belt with it, otherwise it might look a little weird from the back. I don’t have any photos of the back, but I can take some photos this weekend and send it over to you if you’d like. Let me know.

    • Oh Carmen. Thank you so much for popping by and also for offering to send me a ‘back view’. That is really kind! I would love to see it if you really don’t mind. I love your version so much and you have renewed my interest. I knew I wasn’t quite up to redrafting the back bodice so I kind of put it to the back of my mind.

  10. Pingback: B4320 Dorothy dress for World Book Day | ooobop!

  11. Pingback: A certain night-attire ‘party’ sewalong! | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

