The Sailboat Block

sailboat quilt block

sailboat quilt block

This is my third block care of the ‘Art of Quilting’! It is the Sailboat block and it was anything but plain sailing. I think it’s true to say that I made this one all the more difficult by doing it half asleep, late this evening, at a certain time of the month… really not advisable!

Let me tell you… unpicking tiny fraying squares, especially when you’ve used a small machine stitch and secured each end, particularly when your eyes are not properly open, and you are a little stroppy to say the least, is an absolute nightmare.

sailboat quilt block reverse

sailboat quilt block reverse

But I did not growl too much and though I considered abandonment, I rode the waves and I’m now really pleased with it. I think it’s kind of cute! It’s very apparent how keeping a consistent 6mm seam is of crucial importance. You can see from the top edge that I didn’t manage it exactly but I think I can ‘wing’ that edge when it comes to putting it all together.

I’m still behind by one issue and I’m sure the next one is due soon but one is definitely enough for this evening. Give me a vintage dress to make any day!

Block Facts:

Name: Sailboat
History: Some variations of this design date back to the late 1800s. This version has a ‘Deco’ feel and is more likely to belong to the 1930s.
Level: Beginner (apparently!)
No. of pieces: 14

29 thoughts on “The Sailboat Block

  1. Love it! Tips – don’t finish your seams, run them off the end and cut. That doubling at the end we do when making a garment doesn’t apply with quilting. You can also keep feeding in bits one after the other, snip them apart , press them and then sew them together in the next stage etc. Saves thread and time 🙂 Also don’t use tiny stitches, a 3-3.5 is about right. Tiny stitches scrunch the material up just the teenciest bit but it can cost you a couple of mms on each seam and it adds up really fast on a quilting block.
    And if you don’t already have one, do look into getting and using a 1/4 inch foot. They are so much easier to work with when patching because you just line up the edge of the foot with the raw edge and off you go 🙂
    I love this block, I will add it to my ideas folder. It would make a lovely central block for a wee baby quilt. Thank you!

    • Oh Mrs C, I do so appreciate your tips… thank you so much! I’ve been running off the ends and ‘chaining’ but the OCD in me is still securing the stitch at the beginning. I wasn’t sure if it was necessary or not. I will certainly look into getting a 1/4 inch foot. That sounds perfect. I’ve since noticed a little notch on the inside of my regular foot but it is tiny and I’m just beginning to accept that my eyesight isn’t what it used to be! I think it would indeed make a lovely baby quilt. Goodness knows why I didn’t start out on one of those!

  2. That’s a gorgeous block! One of these days I’ll get brave enough to try a quilt…. In the meantime, I’m just going to happily read all about your experience with it. 🙂

  3. I think for a ‘newbie’ as you called yourself on your lovely comment on our blog, you have done a fantastic job! This block looks so neat. As for any slight discrepancies, I personally think they add to the handmade charm and I don’t tend to beat myself up if things don’t look perfect. Most non-crafters don’t see the imperfections anyway.

  4. You might want to try using seam tape. Clover make a really nice super thin one. Its basically iron or double sided tape that dissolves off in the wash. I use it for everything (hems, invisible zippers and bias basically, I don’t quilt). Its also great to give the fabric a bit of strength while sewing because it hardens slightly on cooling.

  5. Pingback: Jacket progress and the Shoo-fly block | ooobop!

  6. Pingback: The Windmill quilt block | ooobop!

  7. Pingback: The Trafalgar quilt block | ooobop!

  8. Pingback: The Chequer Square quilt block | ooobop!

  9. Pingback: The Diamond Square block | ooobop!

  10. Pingback: The Cactus Pot block | ooobop!

  11. Pingback: The Sawtooth Star block | ooobop!

  12. Pingback: Sashing time! | ooobop!

  13. Pingback: The Windmill Sails block | ooobop!

  14. Pingback: Basket of Flowers quilt block | ooobop!

  15. Pingback: Susannah quilt block | ooobop!

  16. Pingback: Road to Oklahoma quilt block | ooobop!

  17. Pingback: Chequer Star quilt block | ooobop!

  18. Pingback: Nelson’s Victory quilt block | ooobop!

  19. Pingback: Fair and Square quilt block | ooobop!

  20. Pingback: Diamond Pinwheel quilt block | ooobop!

  21. Pingback: Whirligig quilt block | ooobop!

  22. Pingback: Old Maid’s Puzzle quilt block | ooobop!

  23. Pingback: Whirlwind Square quilt block | ooobop!

  24. Pingback: Windblown Square quilt block | ooobop!

  25. Pingback: Basket of Flowers quilt block revisited | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

