Jacket progress and the Shoo-fly block

Last night I did question (again) what on earth I was thinking when I chose to make this jacket! Notched collars, welt pockets, mitred corners, upper and lower sleeve, and faced vents… anything else you’d care to chuck at me Burda Style? No… please don’t answer. I know there is more to come but it is all going to be just fine! Anyhows here is a sneak preview of the toile.

jacket toile with notched-collar

jacket toile with notched-collar

I havent trimmed any seams, which is why its looking so bulky, so that I can refer to the toile pieces when I come to do it for real. And I really haven’t set in that sleeve properly. I have decided to let out the waist by an inch or two. It’s a little more snug than I had anticipated! And I am going to move the pockets up just a smidge. But those are the only alterations I can forsee at this stage.

So what is a girl to do after an altercation with a toile? Create a Shoo-fly quilt block of course! This was exactly the therapy I needed. It was so relaxing to do… sewing in straight lines… bliss! This is number four block in the series from The Art of Quilting and it was pretty easy to put together. Think I’m getting the hang of them now!

Shoo-fly quilt block

Shoo-fly quilt block

Block Facts:

Name: Shoo-fly
History: The name was first recorded in 1949, but this is a much older block, also known as Puss-in-the-Corner or Kitten-in-the-Corner. Early Amish examples use just two plain colours, but by the 1930s it included bright florals.
Level: Beginner
No. of pieces: 13

Progress report:

Block 1: The Double Four Patch
Block 2: The Whirlwind
Block 3: The Sailboat
Block 4: The Shoo-fly

Well that just about sums up my rock and roll weekend. Best I go and catch some of those London rays now. How’s your weekend shaping up?

35 thoughts on “Jacket progress and the Shoo-fly block

    • Thank you Sarah. It isn’t a vintage pattern but I think you are right, it does have a vintage feel. Ha… the shoulder pads are yet to go in! I don’t make my own patterns as such. Not that clever yet but I am getting more confident at altering existing ones.

  1. Oh wow, your jacket is looking super chic! I’m loving it and I’m so impressed with all the techniques you are tackling…in just one project! Yikes! Your quilt’s looking very cute too, I can imagine it was a nice change from working on the jacket ;o)

  2. Lucky I am sitting down after hearing that not only is the 80s now Vintage, it is Desirable!! hehehe. I did the crime and the time AT the time so not thanks! Jacket looks 40’s to me, and I love it. I love short jacket with tailored in waists, and I can see you rocking this look! 🙂

    • I’m with you on the 80s front! Not quite ready for that yet! And yes. When I went to the Vintage fair last year, the vintage classification was 20s to 80s. Scary or what?! Thank you Mrs C 🙂

  3. Ah it was a weekend of conquering sewing challenges I see!! I decided to lay to rest my Pastille muslin finally and forge ahead to the nice fabric… you know, the kind that doesn’t have tons of felt pen scribbles on it, mocking me with my own frustration LOL. Nice to see your muslin is nice and clean – you are really kicking butt on that thing! 🙂 I so feel you on sewing nice straight lines being a breath of fresh air; I cannot wait to sew something I don’t have to twist my brain into a knot to figure out LOL.

    • Ha ha… you are not looking close enough. There are scribbles all over it!! I had to, in order to remember what I did to get it right. I’ve got a brain like a sieve! 🙂

  4. oh i love that blazer, i wanted to make it since i first saw it in magazine.. but i never seem to find time to squeeze that project into all my other projects, since it’s so time consuming.. look forward to see your finished blazer 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Windmill quilt block | ooobop!

  6. Pingback: The Trafalgar quilt block | ooobop!

  7. Pingback: The Chequer Square quilt block | ooobop!

  8. Pingback: The Diamond Square block | ooobop!

  9. Pingback: The Cactus Pot block | ooobop!

  10. Pingback: The Sawtooth Star block | ooobop!

  11. Pingback: Sashing time! | ooobop!

  12. Pingback: The Windmill Sails block | ooobop!

  13. Pingback: Basket of Flowers quilt block | ooobop!

  14. Pingback: Susannah quilt block | ooobop!

  15. Pingback: Road to Oklahoma quilt block | ooobop!

  16. Pingback: Chequer Star quilt block | ooobop!

  17. Pingback: Nelson’s Victory quilt block | ooobop!

  18. Pingback: Fair and Square quilt block | ooobop!

  19. Pingback: Diamond Pinwheel quilt block | ooobop!

  20. Pingback: Pinstripe Spencer Jacket: the inside story | ooobop!

  21. Pingback: Whirligig quilt block | ooobop!

  22. Pingback: Old Maid’s Puzzle quilt block | ooobop!

  23. Pingback: Whirlwind Square quilt block | ooobop!

  24. Pingback: Windblown Square quilt block | ooobop!

  25. Pingback: Basket of Flowers quilt block revisited | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

