ooobop! review: Burda Style April 2012

burda magazine april 2012

I will admit to squealing with delight when I spotted the April issue of Burda Style magazine on the shop shelf this morning. I’m sure I raised a few eyebrows. And I would love to see the footage on the CC TV camera of my expressions as I Β stood, furiously flicking through the pages. I’m just so darned impatient. Can never wait til I’ve even got to the till let alone til I’ve got home.

So for those of you who haven’t yet had the pleasure, here’s a little taster of some of the gorgeousness in this issue.

First up are these beautiful wrap tops and a really sexy high waisted pencil skirt. I’ve dogeared these pages for sure!

burda april 2012 wrap top

burda april 2012 skirt

This is the self same wrap top, tied at the front and paired with capris. Just how cute is this?

burda april 2012 tie top

I love this look comprising high waisted skirt and little polka dot shirt…

burda april 2012 shirt

And just how classy is this LBD?

burda april 2012 dress

The skirt pattern below is a plus size with lovely pleating detail to the sides. Not so sure I could carry off the whole ‘nude’ thing but it would be very classy and just the ticket in red or black (of course!)

burda april 2012 pleat skirt

There’s this little skirt too which is very similar I’m sure to the little A-line skirts I have made before. The only difference seems to be the in-seam pockets. I do like this look but it would probably only get showcased on holiday!

burda april 2012 skirt

Now I’m really not a fan of trousers, probably because I have never had a pair that fit me or indeed suit me. I think I am just too short. Strides look much better on longer legs. But that said, I really like the look of these. And if I got some really high shoes, perhaps I could create the illusion!

burda april 2012 trousers

I just love how this dress is all about the sleeves. This version is made from sand washed silk. Just imagine how it feels!

burda april 2012 dress sleeves

There’s also a feature on fashion designer Alberta Ferretti, with a pattern for one of her artistically draped chiffon dresses.

burda april 2012 ferretti dress

In fact there are a few more floaty chiffony pieces going on. I’m not so sure they are entirely my cup of tea but I think they are very feminine and pretty all the same…

burda april 2012 chiffon pieces

And there are some dead trendy linen clothes for kids too. Little Miss Ooobop! is at the upper end of the young children’s sizing so I am going to have to launch into grading if I want to pull any of these off. But it would be so worth it if only for that lovely linen coat…

burda april 2012 kids patterns

These are just my picks there seems to be so much more in this issue but this little lot will do me for starters! See any thing you fancy?

33 thoughts on “ooobop! review: Burda Style April 2012

  1. Wow, I love the dress with the sleeves. I think it would really suit me. I think it’s way beyond my competency though. Maybe I could get my mum to make it for me. I am also still breastfeeding so wouldn’t get many opportunities to wear it – but hey, everyone needs a lovely dress to go out in! Is it an American magazine? Can I get the pattern here in the UK?

    I really like the shirt the little girl is wearing in the middle picture. My mum would, again, love to make clothes for my daughters so I could ask her to make them for me. I could get her to make matching shirts in maybe different fabrics. Or something.

    Ooh, I love getting inspired!

    • It’s lovely isn’t it? The magazine has 60 patterns included, stapled in the middle. Its a bit of a faff tracing them off but for Β£4.75 I think its worth the hassle! I get mine from WH Smiths but you can subscribe online too. If you just wanted that pattern in particular you could try waiting til next month when they load individual patterns on their website to download for about $5. You have to piece them together but I’ve done that before and its ok. The patterns are rated with dots and that dress has 2.5 dots so I would assume its relatively easy to put together for someone with a bit of experience! Good luck sweettalking your mum and thank you for dropping by to comment πŸ™‚

  2. Ok Janene, I think I’m going to have to start getting this magazine. My plan for the summer vacation is to sew more with patterns. Thanks for sharing this and giving me even more inspiration than you already have.
    Have a great evening!
    Beth

  3. This issue will not arrive on Australian newstands for another three months, but it does look great. In particular I’ve been looking for a ‘sailor pant’ pattern for so long. Perhaps I should start a subscription!

    • Oh wow… thats a long wait! Mind you, its always at least 3months til I actually get round to making anything from it! I think a subscription is a good idea but you must always be prepared for the odd issue being not so great!

  4. Love love love the sailor’s pants! And that first wrap top – gorgeous! We’re a bit behind here in Aus (I just purchased December 2011 from the newsagent today) so it’s great to take a sneaky advance look at what’s in store for us πŸ™‚

  5. Okay! I am dying here!!!! I hope mine arrives here soon in the States! I have to admit that last month’s publication wasn’t my favorite and I actually gave it away!!! Love the first picture Bella Donna, Heck, I would just love to look like that gal!!!
    Enjoy your browsing through the mag!

  6. I drooled over that first pencil skirt in teal too, on a different blog – having never bought an issue of Burda Style before, I’m very tempted just by that piece alone… but there’s a good deal of very chic little numbers in this issue, i must say! πŸ™‚ Love the trousers and that little tailored jacket; it reminds me of a toreador’s outfit LOL.

    That pic of the high waisted skirt and polka dot blouse is very reminiscent of your last two finished pieces – only your skirt is more glam, with the buttons πŸ™‚

    • Thank you lovely… you say the nicest things! There are a lot of goodies in this one. Lots of variations too. Well worth the cover price this month. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my god I love it! I’m in Sydney so usually would have to wait. I’ve bought the dec 11 and jan 12 issues recently but this might be the spur for me to subscribe. (or do you think that will jinx it and then we’ll have a bunch of wack issues?). I am actually in the process of making some of the lingerie from one of my burdastyle mags.

    J I love your reviews and love your work!

    • Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comment. mmm… not sure about subscriptions. Same as you, worried about wack issues! Having said that I have faithfully bought it every month for over a year now! πŸ™‚

    • You are most welcome, Caitlyn. I think its great value for all the patterns you get in the middle. Though it’s a bit of a pain tracing the ones you want from the jumbled spaghetti lines!

Leave a Reply

