Polka dots for The Redfords

Mr Ooobop! is the bass player of The Redfords and I know I am unashamedly biased but I have yet to see another covers band that top these guys. They have become hugely popular over the last couple of years, with very little self-promotion and almost totally from word of mouth.

They are booked well in advance for weddings, charity do’s and corporate events with each gig self generating at least one other! I love the way they dress up instead of down, looking so dapper in their tuxes. And so imagine how chuffed I was to see these pictures of them wearing the polka dot scarves and pocket patches I made for them.

the redfords matt and jim

The Redfords, Matt and JIm

The Redfords, Dan, (aka Mr Ooobop!)

The Redfords, Dan, (aka Mr Ooobop!)

The Redfords, Dan (aka Mr Ooobop!)

The Redfords, Dan (aka Mr Ooobop!)

The Redfords, Tom

The Redfords, Tom

The Redfords, Matt

The Redfords, Matt

The Redfords, George

The Redfords, George

The scarves are cut from the finest silk(y polyester). Or rather ripped 63cms from the selvedge, the whole 60″ width of the fabric. Then simply folded lengthwise and stitched on the three other sides with a 1.5cm seam allowance, leaving a gap at what will be the centre back edge, for turning. I trimmed the seam, leaving the full SA at the opening and snipped the corners before turning right side out. Following a good pressing I slip stitched the opening and gave it a final pressing. Simples!

The pocket patches, funnily enough, were more tricksy. I used a 2mm rolled hem foot to hem north and south edges and then sewed the east and west edges. It takes a lot of concentration and a lot of ruined pieces to arrive at a nearly perfect hem! I have still to master the perfect corners but thankfully they wont be too closely examined when they are peeking from the pockets of The Redfords!

Kind of infectious, those polka dots! 😉

8 thoughts on “Polka dots for The Redfords

  1. What a delightful post!!! I checked out your husband’s music on Sound Cloud and it is impressive. If I lived closer, I would definitely book them for my next event!!! Will be sharing The Redford’s with all my friends! Love the polka dot scarves.

Leave a Reply

