ooobop! review: Burda Style August 2012

Burda Style August 2012

Ooo… is it that time already?! Yay for the August issue of Burda Style magazine and all the autumnal loveliness that’s inside!

From the opening spread I am hooked right in. This silver brocade dress is gorgeously fitted and has those trendy neck pleats that I’ve been noticing in a lot of boutique windows.

Burda Style August 2012

And this little vintage style top is an easy make that comes with beginner instructions. I love how that tie drapes over the shoulders and creates a gorgeous detail for the back.

Burda Style August 2012 tie back top

I’m not so sure I could carry off an imitation patent leather cape at my ripe old age, it would have to be the wool, but what a fabulous simple design to throw over any outfit, to add instant glam!

Burda August 12 cape

Now I’m not sure I’ve got my head around drop-hems yet. Call me old fashioned but they just look like the bottom of the skirt has been cut wonky to me. That said, this is a very pretty dress creating a ‘very feminine silhouette’. I think I like those ‘Bermudas’ too but it’s just starting to be summer here and quite difficult for me to get too wrapped up in Autumn gear!

Burda August 12 dress and bermudas

Though this woolly number, I know would be so useful. It is sewn together from bulky knit fabric but the front edges are finished with crochet and the hem is bound off with a knitted edging. So the whole thing would look impressively hand-knitted! Looks fab teamed with that cotton print dress.

Burda August 12 wooly coat

Love these skirts… the shapes, the pockets and the colours but can you imagine the response of Mr Ooobop! if I were to sport the wrinkled down knee socks too!

Burda August 12 skirts

Oh, oh, oh… just when you’ve seen every style of gathered skirt dress. The little cap sleeves on this lovely fitted bodice creates such a gorgeous shape across the shoulders. This really is a ‘must-make’ for me!

Burda August 12 dress

As is this three quarter sleeve version of the silver brocade dress. In tangerine wool this would be soooo deliciously classy!

Burda August 12 dress

And whilst on the subject of class. What’s not to love about this ‘Work of Art’ dress. ‘Shoulder pads give the slightly puffed sleeves a little support. Bodice and sleeves are all doubled with knit lining’. The high-waisted midriff section is so flattering. Another most definate ‘must-make’.

burda august 12 lbd

A little ‘out there’ perhaps but this imitation snakesknit coat is described as an ‘homage to the poised elegance of Parisian women’! Who am I to argue?! I love it teamed with that opulent faux fur collar!

burda august snakeskin coat

There’s always a great crafty section to rustle up your own designer accessories and this month’s issue focuses on belts. I love the cinched in corsetted look. And I’m sure no one would believe you if you said you’d made one of these yourself:

burda august belts

There are of course always a couple of pages of ‘strange’ on offer. But beauty is in the eye of the beholder and who am I to judge?!

Full pyjama style trousers teamed with a wedge sleeve jacket, heavily embellished on the sleeves with a weightlifters quantity of rivets. Mind you I guess the training paid off… that brolly must weigh a ton!

burda august rivet jacket

Now this little visitation to the 60s is described as a ‘wonderful look – both then and now…’ assuming they mean for the ‘yoof’ of today!

burda august frilly bikini

I’m afraid the plus section didn’t grab me this time, or the kids so hey, it’s all about me this time!

As per usual, I haven’t even scratched the surface for all the patterns that are included. The above are purely the ones that excite me the most. And so I will leave you with a collage of some (but not all) of the other pics that might be more your cuppa tea! I think you’ll agree that there is pretty much something for everyone this time round.

burda august others

23 thoughts on “ooobop! review: Burda Style August 2012

  1. I can’t wait! Where is my copy? I think I MUST be the last person in the whole wide world to receive their Burda magazine – BooHoo!

    • I usually buy mine from WHSmiths which seems to be a faster route than via subscription but that said, it was a bit late coming in this month. It’s a goodie! 🙂

  2. It’s a great issue isn’t it!! So many things I would love to make, and quite a few classics with a twist rather than being dominated by the ‘other’ sort of patterns. Just need to find a bit more time to sew!

  3. I’ve got my copy the other wensday, in the Italian version there is the pastel fifties dress on the cover, that drove my attention on it. I love the yellow coordinates and the elegant red dress as well. Autumn and winter ar far away so I can plan (or daydream) to make all of them?

    • I love that dress. I’m not surprised they used it on the cover! I hope that Autumn is far away too. We have only just begun our Summer…. but I wont hold my breath! Happy sewing! 🙂

  4. Oh I can really see you in that tangerine dress and the black one after it, just so classy!! And I really love the peplum bottomed black top in the collage section, although not entirely convinced about the lace collar.
    If ever a woman rocked a simple and elegant and well tailored dress, it’s you m’dear!!

  5. Thanks Janene for posting the August Burda issue. There does seem to be some gorgeous outfits to make. I will have to wait another week or so before mine arrives in Brisbane, but this little snippet that you reveal to me is most appreciated!!! Happy sewing and can’t wait to see what you produce.

  6. I still haven’t found a local supplier of BurdaStyle yet… but I won’t give up hope – until then at least the website usually posts a handful of the most popular patterns ^__^ I really like the fact that they seem to be featuring a number of more tailored designs in this issue, rather than the hopelessly baggy shapeless numbers of recent times 🙂

  7. Oh MY! So many gorgeous patterns – this is a must have for me! Too bad I’ll have to wait 50 months for it to get to Australia – I really should subscribe too.

    • Kat, I just received mine yesterday in the Perth outskirts, though it might have been delayed by the recent rains. (postie doesn’t like our country track on wet days) The direct Burday subscription (via the German site) costs around half of the local newstand price. Soooo many great Burda inspirations—-just do it!

      • Sweet! Yeah, I should just subscribe already and get it done! Will do that this weekend – thanks for the encouragement 🙂

  8. I couldn’t wait for this to arrive in my folder at my local WHSmith, only to find it’s now time for September’s issue, and they still haven’t had my August one… I’ve complained, but got nowhere. Not a happy bunny, there are so many nice patterns I’ve missed now. 😦

  9. Pingback: Inspiration #1: The Dioresque dress | The Secret Costumier

Leave a Reply

