Vintage Simplicity 3320 in plaid

simplicity 3320 in plaid

Vintage Simplicity 3320 outside the Lansdowne Place Hotel, Brighton

Well here is the long awaited vintage Simplicity 3320 in plaid! First worn today on the last day of a lovely few days spent with Mr Ooobop! in Brighton.

It’s taken a good few weeks to get this one together. Not because it was complicated but moreso because of all the finishing. The pattern didn’t call for a lining and to be honest I could probably have got clean away without one. But I wanted the dress to ‘slip’ on and not be a sweaty wrestling routine every time I put it on or took it off.

lining slip stitched to zip

Lining slip stitched to zip

So I lined the bodice and the skirt but not the sleeves. I’m not sure lined sleeves are conducive to sweet smelling ‘pits’! The edges of the facings and the vestee are bound with red bias trim as are the hems of the sleeves.

finishing on sleeve

Finishing on sleeve

By the time I got to the hem, I was all bias-trimmed-out and so I just overlocked and hand sewed an invisible hem.

I don’t know what I was thinking of when I opted for plaid… apart from perhaps a huge amount of inspiration from the lovely Vivienne Westwood herself! Matching plaid calls for a lot more patience and skill than I thought. I will have to research this further. But I did manage to vaguely match the side seams at least!

Vaguely matching plaid on side seams

Vaguely matching plaid on side seams!

This dress isn’t perfect by any means but I really loved the process of making it up. One hallelujah moment for me was managing to fit the invisible zip with the seam lining up where the bodice meets the skirt. I always struggle with this on every garment I’ve made and its always been slightly misaligned but this time, once I had sewed the left side of the zip tape, I marked where the seam should line up and when I came to sew the other side of the zip tape it was pretty much spot on. This is probably old news to most of you and clearly I’m a bit slow on the uptake! But I’m so chuffed it worked!

Yellow chalk marks the seam position

Yellow chalk marks the seam position

Et voilà, totally lined up

Et voilà, totally lined up!

I mentioned before about how I was impressed by the shoulder darts on the toile and I still maintain this is a great feature for me. I don’t think I have ever had a dress that fits me so well across the back and shoulders.

Fits nicely on the back and shoulders

Fits nicely on the back and shoulders

Now the collar is an interesting one. The pattern describes it as a detachable one. Mmmm. In the loosest sense I suppose. I used navy cotton velvet and again bound along the inside edge with bias trim, (I used some green satin bias) and then hand stitched to the inside of the v-neck, sandwiched between the vestee and the bodice. I suppose I could unpick it very easily if I wanted to detach it but a bit over and above the call of duty if you ask me!

Vintage simplicity with not so detachable collar!

Vintage simplicity with not so detachable collar!

Well, all in all this was a fantastic dress to work on. It wont be the last time I use this pattern, though I might opt for a block colour next time!

The picture below was shot by Mr Ooobop! and I think its fab. You can just about make out the old burnt out Palace Pier on the horizon!

Brighton sunset shot by the talented Mr Ooobop!

Brighton sunset shot by the talented Mr Ooobop!

38 thoughts on “Vintage Simplicity 3320 in plaid

  1. AHHHH! I LOVE it so much! IT looks fabulous….I just love the plaid with the velvet collar! Great job on matching the plaid! I also love how it matches the seam in your stockings! Awesome!!!

  2. I love, love, love it. I am always totally bowled over by your individual sense of style – it’s so inspiring. Yes, I spotted the red seam on your stockings, too! Thank you so much for the top tip re lining up the seams on the zip – I always struggle with that, too, and hadn’t worked out how to sort this. All in all, a truly fabulous make. You’re right to feel proud of that last photo also – it’s gorgeous.

  3. My goodness, this looks perfect to me! I love the style, your fabric choices and the fit is just spot on! Like Debi, I think the stockings are a great touch! And that last picture is just breathtaking, there must be a competition it can be entered to!?!

  4. Oh, yay, I’ve been waiting eagerly to see this dress made up on your blog, after seeing your adventures with the muslin! It looks fantastic! 🙂

    I’m impressed with your invisible zipper lining up – I always struggle with that. 😦 I’m going to try your chalk method on the dress I’m making this weekend – thanks for the tip.

    (PS loving the shoes)

    • Thank you Kat. Its a great feeling to pass on a tip! I’ve always pinned the second side of the zip from the top assuming it would naturally line up… but clearly doesn’t!

  5. OH just gorgeous Janene, I LOVE red and blue together so this dress completely blows me away. It’s so individual and so beautifully made, hope you’re proud of yourself?! x

    • Thank you so much Jane. I’m trying to be brave with colour. I have always stuck to monotone but since starting sewing it has given me the opportunity to experiment.

  6. Pingback: The “Apple of my Eye” dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  7. Having a wee squint at your back catalogue too! And I LOVE this dress!!! It has so much attitude, and references all those fab trends like punk and rockabilly while being entirely, uniquely yours. Very cool. You did a lovely job of it and it is really tough working in a big plaid on anything that isn’t a picnic rug or a scarf, as in, flat! LOL!

  8. Pingback: The 4-birds-with-one-stone plaid shorts! | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

