ooobop! bean bag

ooobop bean bag

ooobop! bean bag

I have been nagged by my son for over a year now, for his very own bean bag. The guilt set in when he highlighted that he is always at the end of the queue when it comes to me making things for people. It is true, I admit, I struggle with making boys, or mens things for that matter. I’ve yet to tackle a shirt and the thought of making jeans is a bit scary too! So, inspired by Jane and the lovely bean bag she made for her boys, I dug out a torn out page from a very old Prima magazine, changed it a little and set to work.

ooobop bean bag portrait

ooobop! bean bag

I used furnishing fabric for the cover, from one of those wonderful fabric shops in Shepherds Bush Market, at £5 per meter. And curtain lining for the inner bag at £2 per meter. The outer cover has a strap across the top for a handle and a zip across the bottom for easy removal.

top of the bean bag

top view!

I stuffed it with poly beads left over from Steve! Now, just a word of warning before you commence…. however careful you are at stuffing your bean bag, do expect a flurry of static ‘snow’ which will inevitably cover everything! It’s quite satisfying hoovering it up though.

bean bag handle

The strap makes a good handle for carrying it and also for getting the bag to resume its original shape

bean bag handle

The handle pulled up

I’m very pleased how it turned out. And even more so that its one less nag to endure! I am going to put together some instructions for this so please bear with me and keep an eye out for the next post. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “ooobop! bean bag

  1. Only just seem this post so sorry I didn’t comment earlier. Glad it went down well and it looks fab. They’re so satisfying to make aren’t they? Yes, mine just sit there enclosed in the beanbag, playing computer games too! x

Leave a Reply

